The Car Salesperson License

For those thinking about a career in automobile sales, whether a car salesperson license is required depends on which state one plans to operate. In the United States, requirements vary, with some states requiring a specific license for those who sell cars at a dealership. Some states only require the dealership to have a permit.

car salesperson license

The requirements for getting a car salesperson license vary significantly from state to state. Fees associated with the licensing process differ from state to state, while some require testing and training courses. There is a fee of around $20 to $60 with a straightforward application process and a test.

A Car Salesperson License to Sell Cars

The liability typically shifts to the dealership for individuals in states where a personal license is not required. It is advisable to await employment at a dealership, as they often play a role in facilitating the licensing procedure.

The process of getting a car salesperson license varies from state to state. Here are some of the steps and requirements that are commonly involved.

  1. Age Requirements: Salespeople must be 18 years old.
  2. Application: Apply for a salesperson license. This often involves providing personal information and details about your dealership.
  3. Fees: Pay the required fees. The amount can vary by state (see chart by state).
  4. Background Check: Undergo a background check. This often involves fingerprinting.
  5. Examination: Pass the salesperson license exam.Car Salesman License

Getting a car salesperson license is contingent upon the regulations of each state. Compliance with licensing requirements establishes one as a reputable professional in the automotive sales industry. It is worth noting that other career paths are within the automobile industry because some do not require a license, but the sales and finance manager must be licensed.

States change all the time without notice. Therefore, talking to your dealership or the Department of Motor Vehicles is recommended. (Chart Below)

StateRequiredFeeLink
AlabamaNo
AlaskaNo
ArizonaNo
ArkansasYes$15https://www.dps.arkansas.gov/law-enforcement/arkansas-state-police/services-programs/used-motor-vehicle-dealer-license/
CaliforniaYes$501dmv.ca.gov
ColoradoYeshttps://sbg.colorado.gov/sites/sbg/files/DR%202234.pdf
ConnecticutNo
DelawareNo
FloridaNo
GeorgiaNo
HawaiiYeshttps://cca.hawaii.gov/pvl/files/2018/10/Info-Instruct-App-for-MV-Salesperson_10.18R.pdf
IdahoYes$36https://itd.idaho.gov/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/3171.pdf
IllinoisNo
IndianaNo
IowaNo
KansasYeshttp://kslegislature.org/li/b2021_22/statute/008_000_0000_chapter/008_024_0000_article/008_024_0004_section/008_024_0004_k/
KentuckyYes$40https://mvc.ky.gov/Pages/Dealer-Requirements.aspx
LouisianaYes$35https://lumvc.louisiana.gov/wp-content/uploads/2022/09/Initial-Dealer-Packet.pdf
MaineNo
MarylandYes$68https://mva.maryland.gov/
MassachusettsYeshttps://www.mass.gov/guides/private-party-used-car-sales
MichiganNo
MinnesotaNo
MississippiNo
MissouriNo
MontanaNo
NebraskaYes$20https://nrec.nebraska.gov/licensing-forms/generallicenserequirement.html
NevadaYeshttps://dmv.nv.gov/pdfforms/obl337.pdf
New HampshireNo
New JerseyNo
New MexicoNo
New YorkNo
North CarolinaYes$21.50https://ncbold.com/license/10516
North DakotaYes$21.50https://dot.nd.gov/
OhioYeshttps://autodealers.ohio.gov/resources-for-dealers/permits-and-licenses-issued/salespersons
OklahomaYes$25https://oklahoma.gov/content/dam/ok/en/umvpc/documents/forms/motor-vehicle-industry-forms/Used-Motor-Vehicle-Salespersons-Application.pdf
OregonNo
PennsylvaniaYeshttps://www.dmv.pa.gov/Information-Centers/Business-Partner/Dealer%20Services/Pages/default.aspx
Rhode IslandNo
South CarolinaNo
South DakotaNo
TennesseeYes$35https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/mvc/consumer/selling.html
TexasNo
UtahYes$31 & $20https://mved.utah.gov/licenses/license
VermontNo
VirginiaYeshttps://mvdb.virginia.gov/salespersons/htb-salesperson/
WashingtonNo
West VirginiaYes$10https://transportation.wv.gov/DMV/Dealers/dealers_page/Pages/salesperson-licensing.aspx
WisconsinYeshttps://wisconsindot.gov/pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/salespersonlicense.aspx#:~:text=Salespeople%20who%20work%20for%20a,Pass%20the%20salesperson%20license%20exam.
WyomingYes$10https://dot.state.wy.us/home/vehicle_bus_regulation/vehicle-dealerships.html

Later, Fresh Up on the Lot

KB

 


0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.